Leave a comment

Facing One’s Fears: A Chat With Freddy

Wes Craven's A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

I first saw the original Nightmare on Elm Street at a pool party when I was about 12.  It scared the crap out of me then and has lingered in memory since.

It was with a sense of wonder, then, that I found myself chatting on the phone last Friday to the delightful Robert Englund, a.k.a. Old Knife-Fingers himself: Mr Freddy Kreuger. Allow me a moment to hop around in glee! He didn’t stick his tongue down the line and rasp, “I’m your boyfriend, now, Nancy…,” but it was an exciting experience nonetheless.

The interview (for FILMINK) came about as a result of Never Sleep Again, a new documentary which provides an exhaustive history of the Elm Street franchise as well as an insight into its enduring appeal.  I’d thoroughly recommend it for both fans of the series as well as those with a general interest in horror.

An article on Mr Englund and a review of Never Sleep Again should both appear in FILMINK in the near future.

Leave a Reply

